top of page
Search
  • leah.ruggiere

Interview with Angela Koukoui


Photo by James Hayes
Rehearsal at Xpressive4ever for 2012 AFRAM; Angela is on the far right and Jannika is to her left.


1. Can you tell me a bit about yourself and what you did at AFRAM?


I participated in the AFRAM through a summer program called the Expanded Arts. I performed in dance and performed in the late 80s and early 90’s. I started teaching dance in 2007 and it was a great experience to have my own students perform on the main stage of AFFRAM in 2012.


2. What made you want to be part of the AFRAM Festival?


It allowed me to have an income, it also allowed me to be a professional paying artists, performing in front of thousands of people at the age of 14.


What was the energy like at the AFRAM festivals you participated in? Did people seem to enjoy themselves?


People seemed to enjoy themselves, I was more focused on my performance. The audience would yell with excitement when we performed. After we performed we had a chance to look at other artists and what they did so it was a very upbeat environment. Back then my childhood was pretty cool and looking back I realized we don’t have this type of environment now. Everyone was there and there were lot of people. We were in an inclusive environment in downtown Baltimore.


4. Did you observe any specific thoughts or feelings from visitors there?


Back then I remember wearing my hair in a tight bun and performing. It brought sometype of value to my work. People would say how much they enjoyed watching the performance and would congradulate my performance.


5. Any thoughts on the current AFRAM Festival and its organization/location etc.?


As an adult performing in Afram over the years, it seems like the community aspects have been taken out of the festival and has become more commeralized. Which a lot of the festival members have felt disconnected.


6. Is there anything you want to change about AFRAM Festival? If not, what are things you hope are continued in the next AFRAM Festivals?


There should be research about previous festival when preparing for such a huge festival and it needs to go back into the community. The community needs to be just as invested into the festival.


7. Is there something you would want someone else to learn about the AFRAM Festival and remember?


The first AFRAM stands out for me because it offered a historical understanding and a sense of pride in our communities. I interviewed Norman E. Ross and he mentioned how, “the primary goal of the exposition is to inform the public of the history and achievements of Black people, and special emphasis on Maryland”.

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page